Samita ASBL

Ani Tenzin Wangmo – The Stages of Dying (continued)

Guided meditation, Dhamma Talk and Q&A

1st August 2021 18.00-20.00 CEST

In this section we will review the stages of dying through a guided meditation and make five meditations, so called five powers at the time of death. After that, we will take a look at some practical aspects of accompanying a dying person and about the mourning process, with practices that can help us at the time of loss.

The talk will combine some scholarly insights and experiences from hospice practice with the spiritual aspect of being a Buddhist practitioner. We will also learn from examples of two Buddhist nuns, disciples of the Buddha.

Buddhist practice has an exceptional power to transform the time of hardship into a deeply meaningful path.

The program will be as follows:
1. Guided Eight stages of dying
2. Five powers at the time of death
3. Accompanying a Dying Person
4. Mourning
5. Dying and Mourning of Children
6. Conclusion: Making our life deeply meaningful

Note: If you have questions related to impermanence, loss, death and dying or mourning, or if you would like to focus on particular aspect of the topic, you are welcome to write us ahead of time or tell us about it during the session.

Ani Tenzin Wangmo is the co-founder of Slovenian hospice to provide the education needed for hospice work. She has two university degrees on death and dying (sociology and philosophy) and a did several short meditation retreats on this topic during her studies. Ani Wangmo has worked for decades with elderly or dying people, their relatives and with mourning, both in the Buddhist context and in general. You can read more about her on the website:

If you wish to help Ani Tenzin Wangmo with (monthly) support, please consider donating to the “Ani Fund” on this page:

If you are already registered for the iSangha, there is nothing you need to do. For an automated email to receive the Zoom link, please complete the form below: